Baking, Baking Front, Cake, Recent
Comments 2

Red Velvet Bouquet Cake

I feel like this cake is cheating just a little bit, since the lovely bouquet on top of the cake is not edible and I generally like my cakes to be 100% edible. But the adorable factor is helping me through those feelings.

If anyone ever wants to give me flowers this is the perfect way to give them to me, just putting that out there. Flowers? Good. Cake? Great. Flowers + Cake? Awesome. Flowers ON Cake? I am in a puddle on the floor because my legs melted.

I am trying to get better at taking videos of my baking as an extra challenge and to share with friends and the rest of the world, so if you are curious about this cake take a look! It might help to watch if you plan to use the recipe, since I use edible gold dust on the sides of the cake and am sticking literally an entire bouquet of flowers onto the top 😉

 

My cake ended up being a little shrimpier than I would normally like, and I was blindly following some recipes and didn’t exactly love the acidity of the strawberry filling–but those are easy changes to make. I was a little surprised at how good a reaction the red velvet cake, and the red velvet mixed with chocolate cake, got. Mostly because I for some unknown reason am completely biased against all things red velvet, and if given an option I think I would choose the non-red-velvet dessert 99% of the time, no matter what it was.

The flowers are stuck into a ball of fondant that I bought at the store, which was a good idea in that I didn’t have to contaminate my cake with all those flower stems but it was also a little bit of a challenge because it was not as pliable or manageable once it was on the cake as I would have liked.  If I were more confident about the size and shape of the flower bouquet, I think it would be much easier to make the topper off of the cake and then place it on the cake–less pressure about pushing on a rose too hard and ending up with a fist sized hole in your cake.

Red Velvet Bouquet Cake
recipes from my new baking idol Historias del Ciervo

Red Velvet Cake Ingredients:

125g flour
8g unsweetened cocoa powder
130g sugar
60g butter, room temperature
1 egg, lightly beaten
120ml buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla paste
as much red food coloring as it takes
1 teaspoon red wine vinegar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour two 6 inch cake pans.
2. Mix the flour, cocoa powder and salt in a small bowl and set aside.
3. Mix the buttermilk and red food coloring.
4. Beat the butter on medium speed for about 5 minutes, then add the butter and continue beating until combined and fluffy. Add in the egg and beat to combine.
5. With the mixer on low speed, alternately add the flour and buttermilk mixtures.
6. In a small bowl, mix the vinegar and baking soda, allow to fizz then fold it into the batter.
7. Divide between the two cake pans then bake for 25 minutes.
8. Let the cakes cool in the pans for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack and cooling completely. Wrap in plastic wrap and keep in the refrigerator until ready to use.

Swiss Buttercream Ingredients:

100g egg whites (about three large egg whites)
190g butter, room temperature
150g sugar
100g white chocolate, melted and cooled
1/2 teaspoon vanilla paste

Directions:

1. Mix the egg whites and sugar in a bowl over a pan of simmering water, and whisk until the sugar has dissolved and a candy thermometer reads 65C. Pour it into the bowl of a stand mixture.
2. Beat the egg white mixture for about 10 minutes with the whisk attachment, until the meringue is firm and the bowl feels cool to the touch.
3. Add the butter in one tablespoon at a time, then continue to beat for another 10 minutes.
4. Add in the white chocolate and vanilla, beating to combine.

Strawberry Filling Ingredients:

100g fresh strawberries, chopped finely
20g sugar
juice of one lemon
*I added the 15ml red wine vinegar stated in the recipe and didn’t love it, so I would omit that part*

Directions:

1. Mix all ingredients in a saucepan and cook at a high temperature until it boils. Whisk constantly.
2. Lower the temperature and continue to cook for another 10-15 minutes. Pour into a bowl and set aside until ready to use.

White Chocolate Glaze Ingredients:

80g white chocolate
40g heavy cream

Directions:

1. In a small saucepan, combine the chocolate and cream and stir over medium heat until everything is melted and combined.
2. Pour the chocolate out into a small bowl and let it sit at room temperature–using it for drizzle over the cake once it has reached 30C/86F.

Additional things needed for Assembly:

-potentially another cake, I used one 6×3″ round of chocolate cake
-one bouquet of roses, or really any flower you like
-a small ball of fondant
-edible gold dust

**For assembly, watch the above video! Let me know below if you have questions!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

