Drink, Recent
Comment 1

Matcha White Hot Chocolate

If you are already making a Matcha Cake and Matcha Meringues…you might as well just go for the complete kitchen explosion of Matcha and make Matcha Hot Chocolate right?!

Okay so I don’t know if the total matcha overload was completely necessary…But it was all delicious so whatever. (Also more than a “recipe” I think this should be called “Things Maddie Likes All Thrown Into The Same Pan”….. so feel free to change the ratio to your own liking and taste without feeling like you are cheating or going against the recipe).

In the US it is relatively hard to find matcha lattes, and when you do find them (Starbucks does carry them even though they aren’t on the menu) they tend to taste more like milk and vanilla than the earthy, grassy, bitter matcha that I know and love. Japan–especially my short time in Kyoto–spoiled me for life. (Though that doesn’t stop me from getting matcha/green tea lattes whenever they are on a menu! Also wow am I using a lot of parenthesis today…lol)

So instead of trusting that I will find matcha lattes out and about, I started making them at home. And one day I was contemplating how delicious matcha was with white chocolate and wondered why I had never combined the two flavors into one magnificent drink before. It is actually ridiculously simple, and I’m not sure why I don’t make these every day. Probably because matcha sadly doesn’t go great with coffee and a morning without coffee is something I don’t even want to think about.

DSC_0583

These three ingredients are literally all you need–and even then you could increase or decrease to suit your personal taste or what you have on hand. The white chocolate adds an extra creaminess to the milk and offers a sweetness to offset the bitterness of the matcha without being overwhelmingly sweet. You could also easily swap out the whole milk for a non-dairy milk such as coconut milk if you prefer.

DSC_0606

One downside to this drink is that as it cools the chocolate, matcha and milk will separate and begin to thicken, so it is best to serve it and drink it as soon as it is made–its not the best drink to make ahead or make in large quantities.

I made a larger than normal batch and added a handful of spices for a chai variation–that was also delicious. When people think of chai they often think of black tea, but I like my chai equally well with green teas, which is how I got the idea to add the spices into my hot cocoa. I love chai about as much as I love matcha, so the combination is basically my idea of heaven, but if you are easily overwhelmed and over stimulated by flavors and recipes with a long list of ingredients, maybe stick with the three ingredient version 😉

DSC_0604

Matcha White Hot Chocolate
recipe from my imagination, I’m not stealing this from anyone

Ingredients:

1 cup whole milk (or your milk of choice)
1 tablespoon matcha (or however much you like/can handle, I like it strong)
1oz white chocolate, chopped

Directions:

1. Place the milk in a sauce pan over medium heat and bring to a simmer.
2. Turn the heat to low and whisk in your matcha and chocolate. Continue whisking until everything is completely combined and warmed through.
3. I like to use a milk frother to steam/froth some of my milk to add to the top of my hot chocolate, and I also top my mug with a dusting of matcha so it looks pretty. That is not necessary, even if it is adorable.
Serve immediately. (And with cake if you are feeling decadent 😛 )

Chai Variation:

Add the following into your pan with the milk, and strain the mixture before pouring into a mug:

1 cinnamon stick
1 star anise
3 cardamom pods, crushed
4 cloves
1/8 teaspoon powdered ginger

DSC_0657

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

