Baking, Recent, Uncategorized
Comment 1

Homemade S’mores

T minus 12 days until I return to the land of baking.

I don’t want to leave Seoul and all my lovely friends here, but I am so ready to be back in a kitchen >_<

In light of that (also I’m now procrastinating my philosophy studying) I thought I would share some pictures of one of my newest baking obsessions that I discovered before coming to Korea and never got a chance to talk about: marshmallows.

Who knew regular marshmallows were so boring? And that exciting marshmallows were so easy to make?! And as long as you have sugar and some sort of fruit or flavoring on hand its basically just a free for all.

When I first got back from France I experimented with Raspberry Rose Marshmallows used in S’mores made with Matcha White Chocolate Bark. The marshmallow was soft and we used them right away, so they weren’t roasted over a fire….but they were delicious nonetheless (also my younger brother used a creme brûlée torch to caramelize the top of the one he ate because he pretends to be fancy like that).

After the success of these marshmallows, I ended up making some for the “after party”/in-group family and friends at my younger brother’s grad party last spring. For that I ended up changing up the fruits to make a Pina Colada and a Cherry version.

The Pina Colada version substituted the raspberries with mango and pineapple, and then I roasted some coconut to put on the top.

 

The Cherry version used both frozen cherries and Amarena cherries, with the liquid from the amarena cherries drizzled over the top.

 

The interweb has been blowing up with recipes for caramel marshmallows, pumpkin spice marshmallows, chocolate covered marshmallows and apple cider marshmallows so prepare yourselves, family and friends in Eagan, because I am going to attack you with sugar in less than two weeks! I’ll do my best to upload the recipes and pictures when I try all these new variations out!! Until then check out my vague recipe guidelines below, and ask if you have any questions!

Basically the recipe (whatever your flavor variation) is this:

1/2 cup water
3T gelatin powder
2 cups sugar
1/2 to 1 cup fruit puree*
optional extract
optional toppings

*To make puree, put the fruit you want (chopped/thawed etc) into a pan with a little bit of water and heat it until it begins to simmer. Cool slightly and pulse it in a blender until it is completely pureed, then strain it through a sieve.

In the bowl of your stand mixer, pour in the water and sprinkle the gelatin over the top of it.
Put the sugar and fruit puree in a small sauce pan and heat until it reaches 240 degrees F on a candy thermometer. Pour the hot sugar immediately into the gelatin and whip on high for about 10 minutes until the mixture is fluffy and cooled down but not cold. Add in any extracts or mix-ins, and taste it to make sure you have the flavor you want.
Pour and smooth out the marshmallow into a greased pan (add any toppings you like and press down so they stick) and let it sit for several hours or overnight.
Use a greased knife to cut the marshmallows and let them sit or dust them with a bit of powdered sugar.
DONE.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

