Cake, Recent
Leave a Comment

Irish Coffee Cupcakes, 2015 Edition

I have always thought that St. Patrick’s Day is an underrated holiday. Most people simply see it as an excuse to get drunk while wearing green, or as something that people claiming Irish heritage celebrate within their own community. But I think that, like Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day is a fantastic excuse for a feast. And really, what else defines a good holiday other than good food–and lots of it?

I coincidentally made plans with my Japanese club around St. Patrick’s day this year, so it seemed like the perfect excuse to make some food. Well, some dessert, cuz thats how I roll. So I hit the internet looking for exciting things. Being the ripe old age of 22, it was only my second year of legal drinking age for the holiday and I figured it would be a fun adventure baking with actual alcohol that I actually bought myself (side note, I am actually terrified of going into liqueur stores alone, so this was quite an accomplishment for me 😉 ).

ANYWAY. I decided to look for a recipe involving alcohol and based off of some sort of typical St. Patrick’s day drink. Unfortunately for me, I don’t really drink so I spent at least an hour researching said drinks before I even began to look for recipes. Eventually though, I ended up settling on a Baileys Irish Cream Cupcake recipe from Tutti Dolci–however I did substitute the boiling water for hot coffee, thus making the recipe Irish Coffee Cupcakes.

At this point you may be saying “but Maddie, you made Irish Coffee Cupcakes last year! Why make them again?” Why yes, yes I did make similar cupcakes last year. But the recipes were different enough and enough time had passed that I thought I would try these out–and I ended up liking the recipe so much that I wanted to share it with all of you in addition to the recipe from last year. I would say that this might be a new tradition for St. Patrick’s day, but if things shake out the way I think they will, I will be in France next year, most likely sans a kitchen!

So I made these delicious cupcakes, and because I am an insane person, I also whipped up some Irish Coffee Truffles, Matcha Truffles, and Matcha White Chocolate Bark to go along with the cupcakes as some additional Irish/Green munchies for the gathering I was having. I will hopefully be blogging those recipes in the next week or so, so check back soon for links to those recipes if they aren’t up already!

DSC_0328

The cupcakes were super easy to make, and effortlessly looked very uniform and professional, so they were a delight to photograph. I am especially a fan of the frosting, which is not only absolutely delicious but smooth and easy to use. It actually has nutmeg and cinnamon, adding a chai/spiced coffee kind of flair to the cupcakes–which is not something I have seen in other Irish Coffee Cupcakes.

DSC_0373

DSC_0362

DSC_0368

Baileys Irish Coffee Cupcakes
Inspired by Tutti Dolci

Irish Coffee Cupcakes

1 1/4 cup hot coffee
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
1/4 cup Baileys Irish Cream
1 cup sugar
6 tablespoons butter, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 2/3 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and line a muffin pan with paper baking cups.
2) Whisk together coffee and cocoa together, then add in the Baileys when the mixture is cool.
3) Beat sugar, butter and vanilla in a large bowl until well blended–about 5 minutes. Add the eggs and beat well.
4) Whisk flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl, then add half of the mixture to the butter and beat until combined. Add in the coffee mixture and then beat in the remaining flour.
5) Fill each baking cup with batter and bake for about 15 minutes. Cool for a few minutes in the pan before cooling completely on a wire rack.

Buttercream

3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
2 1/4 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons Baileys Irish Cream
cocoa powder/chocolate shavings, to garnish

1) Beat butter, cinnamon and nutmeg on medium speed until light and fluffy.
2) Add powdered sugar and beat on low speed until combined.
3) Add in the Baileys and whip on high until light and airy.

**Use a star piping tip to pipe the buttercream on to the cooled cupcakes, then sprinkle cocoa powder or shaved chocolate over the tops for garnish. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container for up to two days at room temperature.

Thanks for reading and stop back soon for more recipes and adventures!

Leave a Reply

