Feature, Recent
Comments 3

White Chocolate Strawberry Entremets

I don’t know what it is about small desserts that makes them so much more appealing to make and eat–even if it takes two days to make and five minutes to devour. I want to get better at making little, intricate desserts, so when I was in Japan I visited Kappabashi-dori so that I could pick up a new silicon mold. Now I know what you are thinking, yes, you can buy these things online…but it is so much more fun to pick them out in person, and there aren’t really any stores around me–much less a whole street of stores–that has kitchen supplies like this.

Anyway, I got a new 6-hemisphere silicon mold, and when I came back from Japan I finally got the chance to try it out. (Yes, it has been 6 months between making this and blogging about this, my bad). I ended up using Sandra Bakes a Party’s recipe, as it seemed intricate and still simple enough to test out this kind of dessert for the first time. The hardest part is coordinating each of the different elements in the right order. However, if done correctly it all comes together beautifully.

DSCN5394

While the silicon mold looked like it had a ton of room, it was actually deceptively small. I wanted to add in a ton of the white chocolate truffle filling while still fitting in the sponge cake…and because I couldn’t reign myself in I ended up with a little bit of the sponge hanging out of the bottom…oops!

Basically the sponge cake is made and cut, the truffle filling is made and set aside, a jam of your choice is held on-deck and at the ready, and the silicon mold is coated with a layer or two or three of white chocolate. Always hoping to upstage myself, I experimented a little by dusting some edible pink sugar in a few of the molds and used a paintbrush to brush in some red gel food coloring in a few of the other molds. I had no idea how it would work out when I first tried it, but it actually ended up working out just fine.

I loved the way these turned out–and trust me, they were even more delicious than they looked–so I don’t really know why I haven’t gotten around to trying out something similar with different flavors…hmmm…

DSCN5400 DSCN5388 Processed with Rookie Processed with Rookie

White Chocolate Strawberry Entremets

Ingredient List:

4 eggs
60 grams of sugar
80 grams of flour
1 vanilla bean, seeds scraped
30 grams of butter, melted
—–
230 ml double cream
164 grams white chocolate
250 grams mascarpone cheese
—–
strawberry jam (or really any jam of your preference)
140 grams white chocolate

Directions:

1. To make the sponge cake, mix flour and vanilla seeds in one bowl, and the eggs and sugar in another.
2. Place the bowl with eggs and sugar over a pan with simmering water and stir until sugar has dissolved and the mixture is pale yellow.
3. Add the flour mixture into the eggs and stir, followed by adding in the butter, mixing to combine.
4. Pour the batter into an 11×9 pan (lined with parchment paper), baking at 180 degrees Celsius for 8-10 minutes. Set aside to cool completely.
—-
1. To make the truffle filling, bring the cream to a boil then let it cool slightly.
2. Add in the chocolate and stir until dissolved. Remove from the stove and set aside until cooled.
3. Add the mascarpone cheese and stir until you have a smooth paste. Set aside.
—–
1. To make the entremet, melt the remaining white chocolate and use a pastry brush to spread it into your silicon molds. Freeze and repeat with a second layer.
2. Use a cookie cutter or glass to cut circles out of the sponge cake a little smaller than the diameter of the molds. Brush one side with the jam.
3. Pipe the truffle into the mold, leaving room for the sponge. Place the sponge, jam side down, on top of the truffle.
4. Place the mold into the freezer for several hours or over night. Remove from the freezer 15-30 minutes before serving, so the white chocolate can come to room temperature.

3 Comments

    • Thank you! Yes, they are about 5 inches in diameter. You can buy many different sizes, either in restaurant supply stores or online, and with this recipe you could use varying sizes–really whatever mold you have on hand would probably be fine as long as it has enough space to hold each of the layers 🙂

Leave a Reply

