Recent
Comment 1

Japan Day 75-76: Weekend in Kyoto

Looking back on my study abroad experience in Japan last year (because yes I am that lazy, and it has taken me over a year to write about this) I am amazed at how much I stuffed into four months. I mean, the past four months I have gone to school, gone to work………..yeah. But one weekend I hopped on the bullet train with some of my friends and went to Kyoto. It was the shortest and most incredible experience ever.

We were in Kyoto from November 15th to 16th, fall of 2013. In Japan, this is luckily still around the season of fall colors, if a bit on the early side, so we were able to enjoy the weather while seeing some beautiful reds and oranges amongst the foliage. While we were only there for basically a day-and-a-half, we did hit some of the key destinations like 金閣寺 (Kinkaku-ji, the Golden Pavilion) and witnessed the contrast of modern and traditional as people of all ages strolled down the busy streets of downtown in 着物 (kimono).

I have a ton of pictures that I want to share, so I am going to try something a bit different with this posting and use the “gallery” setting. Let me know what you think or if you have any questions about the contents of the pictures, and if it gets too confusing I will add in more comments!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

