Uncategorized
Comment 1

White Chocolate Hibiscus Almond Bark

As much as I love slaving away for hours in the kitchen, carefully creating various components that add up to one single dessert, there are times when you just need to make something simple. However, that does not mean that you have to sacrifice on taste!

DSCN1568

I think I stumbled across this recipe the usual way I stumble across recipes: procrastinating doing my homework by pinning recipes on Tastespotting. It was just in time too, as I wanted something like this to set out for a dinner party I was hosting.

Everything about this recipe is delicious, and combined it becomes the perfect flavor explosion. As I mentioned, it is not only delicious and easy, but perfect for having out as something for guests to munch on!

First off, the white chocolate is melted in a double boiler with some tea leaves. I used a Berry Hibiscus tea which was a bit on the chunky side, so I stuck the tea in my food processor for a few seconds before adding it to the chocolate.

DSCN1559

DSCN1558

DSCN1561

DSCN1562

While waiting for the chocolate to melt, I toasted up some sliced almonds on the stove. At first nothing seems to happen, but once the almonds start to toast the process goes VERY quickly so be sure to keep an eye on them! The original recipe called for whole almonds, and then to chop those up, but personally I like the look and texture of the sliced almonds.

DSCN1563

I did chop up some of the almonds a little, just to keep the chocolate from looking so perfectly uniform. I also slightly chopped up some dried cherries. (Here again, the recipe called for dried raspberries, but I went with what was available to me!)

DSCN1565

When the chocolate is melted it is poured into a prepared pan, then sprinkled with more tea, the almonds and the cherries.

DSCN1566

After a few hours the chocolate can be chopped into bite sized pieces. I unfortunately did not get a chance to obsessively take pictures of the chocolate chopped up as my dinner guests arrived before I could…but trust me that it looks fantastic, especially all stacked up in a cute little bowl! ^_^

Everyone–no matter their dessert and flavor preferences–loved this chocolate! It really inspired me to try different kinds of tea, different dried fruits, and other unique flavor combinations the next time I make it!

White Chocolate Hibiscus Almond Bark
Recipe Inspired by Sift and Whisk

Ingredients:

16 ounces chopped white chocolate, divided
1 tablespoon tea, ground if “chunky” (I used Berry Hibiscus)
1/4 cup dried cherries, roughly chopped
1/4 cup sliced almonds, roughly chopped if desired

Directions:

1) Line a 13×9 inch pan with parchment paper.
2) In the top of a double boiler, melt about 3/4 of the white chocolate and 1-2 teaspoons of ground tea. Stir until melted then remove from the heat and add in the rest of the white chocolate.
3) While the chocolate is melting, place the almonds in a pan over medium heat and cook until toasted slightly and fragrant.
4) Pour the white chocolate into the prepared pan then sprinkle with the remaining tea, almonds and cherries.
5) Let the chocolate sit at room temperature for around 2 hours, or until the chocolate is set. Cut or break into small pieces and serve!

Thanks to everyone who ate this and who gave me fantastic feedback! ^_^ If anyone thinks up other great flavor combinations let me know!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

