Baking
Comments 2

White Chocolate Cranberry Truffles

For as much as I love chocolate and use it in various baked goods, I don’t make truffles or other desserts that are mostly or entirely chocolate. When I was in Japan I went to Kappabashi-dori, the “Kitchen Street” in Tokyo.

Let me tell you, Kappabashi-dori was fantastic and I could have spent MUCH more time and money there!

IMG_0645

Because I got there with my friend later in the evening on a Sunday, we were a bit rushed in looking at everything we wanted to see, and the lighting wasn’t great to take a ton of photos. I did find a blog called Love and Lemons that has a great post about the area and the shops there, so if you want to find out more, check out her post here!

I did make one purchase for myself while I was there though, which was a silicon mold. This may seem like a random thing to buy, but I have been dying to try out recipes that call for such molds and I haven’t been able to find any stores in Minnesota that sell them.

Returning home from Japan, I was excited to bake and also excited to use the mold I had bought. I searched awhile on Tastespotting until I found the perfect recipe. The one I ended up with used homemade cranberry sauce, which goes well with the holiday feeling.

In order to make the truffles, first make the cranberry sauce so it can cool completely before it needs to be used as a filling. Although I based my recipe off of one from a blog called Cooking with Zoki, I made a few changes–rounding up and down measurements to suit what I had available to me.

First the apple needs to be chopped up into little pieces. It doesn’t matter exactly how the apple is cut up, but remember that it needs to boil down into something that will be used as a filling for a truffle–so the smaller the better.

DSCN0649

As soon as the apples are chopped, the apples along with everything else get put into a pot and boiled until it begins to become thick.

DSCN0659

DSCN0670

After about 20 minutes of simmering, I used a fork to mash up everything to ensure that the cranberries and apples were very soft and that there were no large chunks.

DSCN0674

When I was satisfied with the texture, I turned the heat off and allowed it to cool until putting the cranberry sauce in a container and refrigerating it until it was needed. I made the sauce the night before just to make things easier on myself, but you could make it the morning of if you want.

DSCN0688

For the truffles, melt a large amount of white chocolate in the top of a double boiler.

DSCN0694

I took out a small amount of melted chocolate and colored it using gel food coloring…which ended up being the same color as my kitchen! >.<

DSCN0696

DSCN0699

Take the colored chocolate and paint it into the mold. I have a set of paint brushes that are exclusively for baking that I keep in the kitchen, which I used for things such as this.

DSCN0701

Either wait until this colored chocolate has hardened or stick the mold in the freezer for a few minutes before painting melted white chocolate into all of the molds to coat them completely. Stick the mold into the freezer for about 10 minutes to ensure that the chocolate hardens before painting in the next layer.

DSCN0703

Continue painting in layers of white chocolate than freezing them until they are solid until you are satisfied that there is a thick layer of chocolate. With my mold that had raised decoration on the top, I made sure to fill in the decoration so there wouldn’t be any fragile or thin areas on my truffles.

DSCN0705

Use small spoons to place a bit of cranberry sauce in each of the molds, then fill the rest of the mold with more white chocolate. Be careful that your truffles have flat bottoms, which can be done by scraping a knife over the top of each truffle.

DSCN0711

DSCN0716

DSCN0719

Place the mold in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes, then remove from the freezer and from the molds.

DSCN0723

DSCN0744

What else can you do with this cranberry sauce? Use it as a filling for a Chocolate Cake!

White Chocolate Cranberry Truffles
Inspired by Cooking with Zoki

Ingredients:

1 apple
1 bag frozen cranberries
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup apple juice
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
5 whole cloves
about 2-3 cups chopped white chocolate
gel food coloring, optional

Directions:

1) Finely chop the apple then place in a pot along with the cranberries, sugar, juices and spices.
2) Bring the mixture to a boil then turn down the heat and simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
3) Put a lid on the pot and continue to simmer for another 10 minutes or so.
4) Use a fork to mash up everything in the pot and continue to simmer if you aren’t satisfied with the texture or if it is too runny.
5) Allow the cranberry sauce to cool completely.
6) Melt the white chocolate in the top of a double boiler. If you want to color some, remove a few tablespoons of the white chocolate and use gel food coloring until you are satisfied.
7) Using a small paintbrush, paint the colored chocolate into the bottom of a silicon mold.
8) Paint a layer of white chocolate into the mold to coat it completely then place in the freezer for about 10 minutes to harden it completely.
9) Continue painting in layers of white chocolate until you achieve a thick shell, about 3-4 times.
10) Place a small amount of cranberry sauce in each mold, then cover with more white chocolate.
11) Scrape the top of the mold with a knife to ensure the truffles will be flat, then place in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes.
12) Remove the mold from the freezer and remove the truffles from the mold.

**The truffles can be stored in the refrigerator or freezer, but make sure you keep them out on the counter before serving them, as they are best eaten around room temperature.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Berry Chocolate Cake | Unmasked Adventures

  2. These look incredible! Really professional 🙂 thanks for sharing the recipe and I might attempt to make these in time for Valentine’s day!

Leave a Reply

