Cake
Comments 3

Chocolate Marshmallow Pocky Cake

Perhaps you remember that about one year ago I made a Strawberry Pocky Cake for my cousin’s birthday. (If not definitely check it out! Its super cute!) I LOVED using Pocky for a cake and ever since then have been imagining all sorts of ways I could use it again on another cake. Last week I made a chocolate cake for fun, and when the recipe resulted in twice as many cakes as I needed I knew that I had to use the extra for a Chocolate Pocky Cake.

DSCN1141

I decided to use Chocolate Pocky sticks this time, so I wanted some kind of similar colored frosting. I searched for quite some time and ended up with a recipe that was very user friendly and very easy to adapt to other flavors–so I will definitely be using it again! I also ended up making a Marshmallow Filling because I wanted something to make the inside of the cake fun but not distract from the chocolate flavors throughout the rest of the cake’s components.

Because I was using “left over” or pre-made cakes, this cake didn’t take me very much time at all, despite having several components. I had been keeping the cakes wrapped in my freezer, and the night before I wanted them I transferred them to the refrigerator.

To start off with, I made the chocolate frosting. First, melt some chocolate in the top part of a double boiler.

DSCN1056

DSCN1061

Make sure to melt the chocolate first because you will need to let this rest and cool a bit before you add it to the butter and sugar. I used this time to skype with my friend in Japan, but you could really do anything…study, read, drink tea, watch Sherlock (which I am now addicted to >.<). Anyhow, when your chocolate is cool/only slightly warm, add it into the butter mixture and whip until light and fluffy.

DSCN1069

DSCN1072

DSCN1075

Now to make the Marshmallow Filling, or Fluff as I like to refer to it. You will need to use your stand mixer again (if you have one) so unfortunately you do need to take a quite dishes washing break. As soon as you are ready, bring sugar, water and corn syrup to a boil. Simultaneously you are going to want to whip egg whites to soft peaks in your stand mixer. If your stove and stand mixer are in two separate rooms like mine…good luck…this process goes very quickly!

DSCN1077

DSCN1080

When all of that is ready, take the boiling sugar off the heat and slowly pour it into the egg whites while the beater is running. Turn the speed to high and continue to whip the mixture until the sides of the bowl are only warm (not hot) and the mixture is incredibly fluffy. At this point, stir in vanilla.

DSCN1087

DSCN1091

Now we are ready to assemble! 😀

Just like any layer cake, build the cake one layer at a time, making sure to keep the cake level. When all the layers are stacked, I like to place the cake in the freezer before putting on the crumb coat of frosting. I also like to put the cake in the freezer for a short time before the second/final layer of frosting just to make sure everything stays where it should.

DSCN1094

DSCN1098

DSCN1102

DSCN1103

DSCN1105

I piped lines of frosting across the top of the cake, because even though the key point is the pocky sticks covering the outside, you will want to have the top be neat as it will be visible.

DSCN1108

DSCN1118

After making sure the sides of the cake are frosted and smoothed, it is time to add the pocky! This process is actually fairly quick and is not challenging. All you need to do is press the pocky one at a time against the side of the cake, and line each additional pocky up with the one next to it so that they stay perfectly vertical.

DSCN1120

DSCN1121

DSCN1133

DSCN1135

Tada~~ Chocolate Pocky Cake!

I added a ribbon, partially to keep the pocky nice and tight but mostly just for decoration. I don’t get to use ribbons with baking very often, but it is really nice as a color splash when you do get a chance to use them!

DSCN1141

DSCN1163

DSCN1139

Chocolate Frosting Recipe
Inspired by The Moon Blush Baker

Ingredients:

3.5 sticks butter, room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar
3-4 tablespoons heavy cream
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate, finely chopped

Directions:

1) Melt the chocolate in the top of a double boiler. When completely melted, remove from heat and allow to cool.
2) Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
3) Add the chocolate to the butter mixture and beat to combine. As you are beating in the chocolate, pour in the cream in 1 tablespoon increments.
4) Beat the frosting until it has lightened in color and everything is thoroughly combined.

Marshmallow Filling Recipe
Inspired by Sweet Frosting

Ingredients:

2 egg whites
1/4 cup water
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup corn syrup
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1) Bring the water, sugar and corn syrup to a boil.
2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the egg whites to soft peaks.
3) Pour the hot sugar mixture into the egg whites while the beater is going. Continue to beat until the sides of the bowl are warm (no longer hot) and the mixture is light and fluffy.
4) Stir in the vanilla.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

