Uncategorized
Comment 1

Chocolate Sugar Cookies

To practice my royal icing skills, as I recently did with my Norwegian Sweater Cookies, I needed some kind of cookie to use as the base. Typically I am all about flavors and textures, but for this I really only needed something quick and simple to use as a canvas. In light of that I went out searching for the perfect recipe…and not surprisingly found myself browsing around Sweetapolita’s website.

DSCN1030

I ended up using Sweetapolita’s Perfect Dark Chocolate Sugar Cookie Recipe, which I ended up liking in the end though I faced a few challenges along the way. To start off, the recipe called for 6 cups of flour and I decided immediately that there was no way I needed that many cookies, so I cut the recipe in half. Additionally, the recipe originally said it would make 30 cookies…though as mentioned I cut the recipe in half, and I ended up with 24 cookies and a bit of left over dough. I would have had to make cookies the size of my head to have gotten 30 cookies out of the original batch!

This recipe is fairly standard, and involves combining dry ingredients then adding them to a creamed butter and sugar mixture.

DSCN0839

DSCN0841

When everything was coming together though, the batter seemed too dry and didn’t stick together in a way that I knew it would have to. So I ended up adding in about 2 tablespoons of milk. You need the dough to be able to form two balls which will then be refrigerated before being rolled out.

DSCN0847

DSCN0852

DSCN0871

I used a plain circle cookie cutter that was about the size of my palm. I really like this size because it is a good size to practice icing techniques, but it is also a reasonable sized cookie in terms of eating it.

DSCN0877

DSCN0879

The cookies bubbled a bit when cooking, but I have a hunch that is due to my oven and not a fault of the recipe. Regardless, I used icing to mask these malformations and it was not noticeable in the final products.

DSCN0890

DSCN0894

After these cookies cooled completely I used them for my Norwegian Sweater Cookies! Check out the recipe/tutorial here!

Dark Chocolate Sugar Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

3 cups of flour
1/2 cup + 2 Tablespoons dark cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 sticks of butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-2 tablespoons milk, if needed

Directions:

1) Sift the flour, cocoa powder and salt into a bowl and set aside.
2) Cream the butter and sugars until pale and fluffy then beat in the eggs until just combined.
3) Add in the flour mixture in several additions and beat until just combined. Add in the vanilla and mix.
4) If your dough is not at the correct consistency and is too dry, add in the milk and combine.
5) Divide the dough into two portions, flatten into disks and wrap with plastic wrap. Place them in the refrigerator for about 45 minutes.
6) Remove one disk and roll it out to about a 1/4 inch thickness. Cut out the shapes you want then place them on a baking sheet. Place the baking sheet in the freezer for about 15 minutes before baking them for about 16 minutes.
7) Cool the cookies on the sheets for at least 10 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely. Store them in an airtight container until you are ready to frost them.

*I used this Royal Icing recipe for these cookies!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Royal Icing Take 3: Norwegian Sweater Cookies | Unmasked Adventures

Leave a Reply

