Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Japan: Day 2 (Orientation Part 1)

After yesterday’s adventures, I was ready and confident when I arrived once again back at the airport to meet the people from my program. Immediately when I stepped off the bus though, I was deluged with heat and humidity…and not soon after, a camera crew! Yes, you read correctly, I was interviewed (in all my sweating, humiliated glory) in Japanese by a television crew who produce a show about why foreigners come to Japan. I soon snuck away, but another boy I soon met from my program was not so lucky. Not only did they follow him around while we were taking care of business at the airport, but they came with us on the bus to follow him around tonight…and are coming back tomorrow! :O

IMG_8107

I did make it–new phone in hand, minus some luggage–to the orientation “hotel” which is really a seminar space with several floors of dorm rooms. Luckily I made fast friends with my epal and set out to explore the city.

My small yet functional room

My small yet functional room

The room is tiny, but they still prepared a hot water pot, tea and cups! Yep, definitely the motherland

The room is tiny, but they still prepared a hot water pot, tea and cups! Yep, definitely the motherland

View of Makuhari from the dorm room

View of Makuhari from the dorm room

All I can say is: I love it here! More than being in Tokyo, this city (Makuhari) just has a really comfortable, “right” feeling to it. Before doing anything in the city though, Yumena and I went to grab something to drink! We ended up at a small coffee shop and had some delicious and refreshing smoothies.

Smoothies with Yumena, my E-Pal!

Smoothies with Yumena, my E-Pal!

IMG_8110

After that, we set out to explore the university. Much to my surprise, it was only a short 10 minute walk from where we had been, and the university is small enough that we could walk around and explore the entire thing. It is a great campus with some really pretty areas, and small enough that it is manageable and I don’t think I will get too lost there! πŸ˜€

The library at KUIS

The library at KUIS

Garden area at KUIS

Garden area at KUIS

Yumena showed me more of the city and we ate dinner together before I returned to the dorm. While in the supermarket in one of the malls, we came across my favorite to date “English” sign. Honestly, this made my day, and it was highly amusing explaining how and why it was incorrect to a native Japanese speaker!

IMG_8116

IMG_8117

Yep, BEST SIGN EVER

Yep, BEST SIGN EVER

My thoughts from the day:
1) Fashion is way more important to Japanese people than it is to me. T_T I asked my E-Pal why no one wears sunglasses, to which she responded, “Isn’t it embarrassing?!” And later she confided to me that she thought her plain, IES t-shirt was terribly embarrassing, and she couldn’t wait to change… Oh dear, I’m afraid my clothing is not quite going to cut it…
2) Everyone, male and female, seems to carry all necessary items in their bag…somehow. For instance, everyone seems to have cloths for wiping sweat (which I really need to get…), cloths for drying their hands in the restrooms, an umbrella to block the sun… Yeah, if I brought everything I needed like that I would need a duffle bag! I don’t know how they fit it into fashionable purses… I will have to do more research! πŸ˜‰

*I was going to post all of my orientation adventures in one go…. but the more the merrier right?? >.< I think I will try to post my daily adventures while I still have the motivation and new experiences every day ^_^

γ˜γ‚ƒγ€γΎγŸζ˜Žζ—₯!

Leave a Reply

