Uncategorized
Comment 1

Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies

As I have challenged myself and made more complex and extravagant baked goods, I have also found myself less satisfied with mixing up a batch of drop cookies. None the less, cookies are delicious, loved by everyone, and easy to make and serve for a crowd, and that is exactly what I was in need of today.

You may remember from some of my previous posts (like my Matcha Cookies and Fruit Swirl Cookies) that I am part of a Japanese conversation group (会話サークル) and that I can often be found baking for our meetings. Well, today I needed a dessert for an epic event: a traditional American barbecue and bonfire! This–to my fellow Americans–may seem simple, and you might be confused at my stress at baking something for this event. However, it has required extra planning to get all the members of the club (about 15-20 people) from the city out to my parents place in the suburbs…where the closest bus station requires a car to get from there to the house. So I don’t have the time or energy to be creating a masterpiece and transporting that as well as everything else…and a barbecue is supposed to be simple, right?

Another complication in finding the perfect recipe was that we will (of course) be making s’mores. (Why then, if we will already have dessert would I need to bake? Because I am a crazy person). So whatever I made had to be wonderful, simple for a crowd, easy to eat outside, and not too sweet or overwhelming as to overpower the s’mores. I kid you not, I searched for a recipe for at least an hour.

IMG_7640

What I ended up with were these cookies; Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies. The recipe is easily doubled, unique, flavorful, and meets all the prior requirements! …The only problem, I DID double the recipe, only to find that the original makes 4 dozen cookies…so I literally have a house full of cookies 😛 On the plus side, since I have 8 dozen cookies for a party of about 20-30 people, I could easily bring a dozen into work and give some to other friends outside of the group without even noticing any were gone! 😉

Like any good cookie, this recipe starts out with butter and sugar. I used a dark brown sugar do give the cookies extra moisture and depth of flavor. I have found that unless the recipe explicitely states the need for light brown sugar, dark brown is always the way to go.

IMG_7601

The dry ingredients are mixed separately, which is usually a pain and quite boring, but was made more exciting with the addition of rolled oats, cinnamon and the secret star ingredient: nutmeg. I think I may have added a wee bit too much nutmeg, but I still love the results. However if you are making this recipe for someone who has a simpler palate/likes their food more on the bland side, I would reduce the nutmeg.

IMG_7610

After everything is mixed together, the butterscotch chips are added in. Since I doubled the recipe, my mixer was full to the brim…and I think it deservs an award for successfully incorporating everything, including the chips.

IMG_7614

I always use a small ice cream scoop to portion out my cookies. I know there are a million sizes of ice cream scoops, but I think for the most part what you use depends on how big you want your cookies, and the scoop is used instead of using spoons/your hands to make the process quicker and cleaner.

IMG_7624

Another great thing about this recipe is that it doesn’t require any time in the refrigerator, and can be baked immediately. The unfortunate thing is that because I doubled the recipe and have one oven with two racks…I had to bake the cookies in 4 batches >.< Ah well, it was worth it, they are delicious!

IMG_7631

IMG_1336

IMG_1347

Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies
Inspired by Greens and Chocolate

Ingredients:

3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 (or 1/8) teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 cups rolled oats
8 to 11oz butterscotch chips, depending on how strong of a flavor you like

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
2) Cream the butter and sugars together until thoroughly combined and creamy, about 2 minutes.
3) Add in the eggs one at a time, then mix in the vanilla.
4) In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and oats.
5) Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture in batches until everything is mixed together.
6) Stir in the butterscotch chips until they are evenly distributed. Butterscotch chips come in bags of 11oz, and I would start by adding in 1/2 of the bag, stirring, and then adding more according to what your taste is.
7) Use a small ice cream scoop to portion out the cookies, and place them on the prepared baking sheets.
8) Bake for 8-12 mintues, depending on how chwey you like your cookies. I did about 10 minutes, and they were still chewey the next day.
9) They can be served immediately or stored once they are cool in a sealed container.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

