Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Kiwi Berry Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Despite being up at my family’s cabin, I was determined to create a desert masterpiece to celebrate the 4th of July. For some people, this may not seem like a road block. For me, baking outside of my own personal kitchen and away from all my tools is actually a little intimidating. After surveying my available pans (mostly loaf, bundt, and square pans) and scouring the internet, I found the perfect–and patriotic–recipe.

IMG_7078

One of my favorite parts of this recipe is how light and fluffy it is. Even the cream cheese frosting is airy and not as heavy as most are. And although it is not as Asian inspired as the Strawberry Cream Cake I made, it does continue with the sponge cake/simple theme of recipe I am trying to make more of.

IMG_7061

The sponge cake base could not be simpler. Seriously, it has three ingredients. The batter, perhaps not surprisingly, doesn’t taste great. Now, maybe some of the people reading this dont eat/sample the raw batter of the things they bake, but I recognized in early childhood that tasting the batter before the baked good goes into the oven not only shows how good it will be, but helps to satisfy the need for instant gratification. Anyway, this batter basically tastes like the ingredients: a slightly sweetened mixture of flour and eggs. What I really do like about this is the quality of the flour I used, which I think did make a difference. Instead of using bagged flour from the regular grocery store, I used a good quality, organic bulk flour from the local co-op.

IMG_6988

IMG_6991

IMG_6995

The cake expands a lot in the oven, and then deflates again when it comes out. Probably due to the high amount of eggs, the baked cakes are very airy and quite sticky. After taking them out of the pans, I wrapped them up and stuck them in the freezer for several hours before cutting them horizontally in half.

IMG_7006

For the frosting, I whipped up the cream cheese and sugar before adding the cold whipping cream. It is very soft and easily spreadable, but at the same time is not too runny. However, I probably wouldn’t use this frosting for piping more complicated things such as flowers.

IMG_7013

I frosted the cake much as I would any other layer cake, but with each layer I added on sliced kiwis and strawberries.

IMG_7017

After stacking the cake, I frosted the outsides and decorated it with more fruit.

IMG_7020

IMG_7032

Because there were a few hours before the cake was going to be eaten, I stuck it in the freezer. I probably would have put it in the refrigerator, but unfortunately I didn’t have any room! >.<

IMG_7039

IMG_7078

IMG_7075

Happy 4th of July everyone~ (Although feel free to make this cake at any time of the year!)

IMG_7084

Kiwi Berry Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
Inspired by Natasha’s Kitchen

Sponge Cake Ingredients:

6 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup flour

Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients:

2 (8oz) packages cream cheese
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup cold whipping cream

*Fresh fruit for topping and filling, such as kiwi, strawberries and blueberries

Directions:

1) Grease two 8″ pans and preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
2) On high speed, beat the eggs for 6-8 minutes until they are light in color, slightly thick and tripled in size.
3) Sift (yes, you REALLY have to sift) the flour and fold it in with a spatula.
4) Divide the batter between the two prepared pans and bake for 25 minutes until cooked through and brown on the top. Cool on wire racks until completely cool, then turn them out, wrap in plastic wrap and stick in the freezer.
5) To make the frosting, Beat the cream cheese and sugar together until soft and thoroughly combined.
6) Pour the cream into the cream cheese mixture and beat for 3-5 minutes until you have reached the desired consistency.
7) Remove the cakes from the freezer and slice in half horizontally.
8) Place one layer on your cake board/serving plate and spread a small amount of frosting on top of it. Place fruit slices in circles on top of the frosting layer.
9) Take the next cake layer and spread a layer of frosting on it before pressing it on top of the fruit frosting side down.
10) After stacking the remaining cake layer in the say manner, frost the top and sides of the cake with the remaining frosting.
11) Use the remaining fruit to decorate the sides and top of the cake however you want.
12) Serve immediately or place in the refrigerator until ready to serve. Enjoy!

Rating: 5/5 So delicious! Everyone who ate it loved it and it was a pleasure to bake!

Let me know if you try this recipe out! I would love to see your creation!

Leave a Reply

