Uncategorized
Comment 1

Strawberry Cream Cake

I appologize for always thinking the things I bake are “the best ever” but this time I SERIOUSLY mean it! This cake was fun to make and was sooo delicious!

IMG_6601

The cake was airy, the cream light and fluffy, the strawberries were fresh…. Simple, elegant *sigh* mostly just delicious 😛

IMG_6587

This cake recipe has a very Asian flair in that it has a low level of sugar and is not dense. I have always been fascinated by Asian baked goods, and so this is what I see as the beginnings of my baking forays into that territory. As you may remember from my pictures of my first trip to Japan, I had some delightful Japanese Strawberry Cream Cake in Nagoya! My ultimate goal is to be able to whip up a cake like this as simply as I could whip up a batch of cupcakes, and this was a good start if I do say so myself.

The cake base is a sponge cake, made with mostly eggs whipped into oblivion. You do need to be careful though, because this does require sifting ingredients that need to be sifted, and gently (and repeatedly) folding in ingredients once the eggs are beaten.

IMG_6511

IMG_6509

IMG_6522

I made the cake the night before I wanted to serve it, and stuck it in the refrigerator. Because it wasn’t as hard as I wanted it to be, I stuck it in the freezer for a few hours before I sliced it in half.

IMG_6528

IMG_6530

IMG_6544

After cutting the cake, I made the stabilized whipped cream “frosting.” This started with water and unflavored gelatin powder.

IMG_6540

After the water solution had cooled (and the bowl to the mixture had been refrigerated/frozen for about 10-20 minutes) I whipped up the cream. After the cream began to thicken, I added the water mixture and whipped until it reached the consistency I was looking for. Yes, it really was that simple! 😀

IMG_6556

IMG_6558

I also cut up several strawberries, and let them sit in a bowl with a little sugar to let them macerate. In addition, leaving the stems on, I sliced up a few more strawberries to use as decoration. Because I wanted to serve the cake whole, because I used a square pan, etc. I created one central strawberry design on my cake. However, this cake could really be decorated however you like, and with whipped cream and strawberries, the possibilities for cute-ness overload are nearly endless.

To stack the cake, I layered the two cakes with whipped cream and strawberries, before frosting the entire cake with more whipped cream.

IMG_6569

IMG_6578

I then piped dots around the edges and added some strawberries to the top. Again, I served the cake as a whole, but if you wanted you could follow the original recipe–in which the cake was pre-cut–and create individual designs.

IMG_6592

IMG_6614

IMG_6590

And here is what it looks like when you cut into the cake! SO CUTE!

IMG_6678

Strawberry Cream Cake
Inspired by Foodagraphy
**I doubled the recipe and made a 9×9″ square cake, instead of the 6×6″ in the original recipe. This is reflected in the ingredient list!

Cake Ingredients:

8 eggs, separated
1 cup granulated sugar
6 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup cake flour, sifted
4 tablespoons butter, melted

Whipped Cream Ingredients:

4 teaspoons gelatin powder
6 tablespoons water
4 cups whipping cream, cold
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1-2 teaspoons vanilla

Filling/topping Ingredients:

Strawberries
1-2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celcius and line a 9×9″ cake pan with parchment paper and spray with oil.
2) Beat the sugar and egg whites until stiff and glossy.
3) Slightly whisk the egg yolks and add to the egg white mixture. Gently whisk everything until combined.
4) Add the milk, vanilla, and flour to the batter and gently fold in with a spatula.
5) Fold in the butter and mix with a spatula.
6) Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 30-40 minutes.
7) Let the cake cool completely in the pan on a wire wrack, then remove the cake, wrap in plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator until needed.
8) To make the whipped cream “frosting,” first place the bowl of your stand mixer/the bowl you will be using in the refrigerator or freezer for 10-20 minutes.
9) Place the water in a saucepan and sprinkle the gelatin over the top. Stirring constantly, heat over low heat until the gelatin is dissolved completely. Cool completely.
10) In the chilled bowl, whip the cream, sugar and vanilla until slightly thickened.
11) Add the gelatin mixture to the cream and whip on high speed until stiff.
12) Chop several of the strawberries and place them in a bowl with the granulated sugar. Leaving the stems on, slice a few of the other strawberries.

To assemble the cake:

1) Slice the cake horizontally in half.
2) Using an offset spatula, spread cream over one half of the cake. Pipe a boarder then sprinkle the chopped strawberries inside it.
3) Spread more cream on top of the strawberries, then sandwich the other cake on top of it.
4) Frost the top and sides of the cake. At this point, you can place it in the refrigerator/freezer for a few minutes if it feels too soft.
5) Decorate the top and/or sides of the cake by piping designs with the cream. Add the sliced strawberries.
6) Place the cake in the refrigerator or freezer for an hour before serving. If the cake has been in the freezer for more than 2 hours, let it sit on the counter for at least 30 minutes before cutting and serving.

Enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Kiwi Berry Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting | Unmasked Adventures

Leave a Reply

