Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Biscoff Nutella Thumbprint Cookies

Have you ever eaten peanut butter off of a spoon, directly from the jar? I am guessing most of you have (and if you say otherwise, I think you are probably lying). Well, if you enjoy eating peanut butter directly from the jar, you are going to have an incredibly hard time keeping the amount of ingredients you need for the recipe in your home until the recipe is complete. Seriously, it is a challenge not to grab a spoon and eat the star ingredients for todays recipe!

IMG_6506

Speaking of star ingredients, have you ever used Biscoff Spread or Nutella before? I grew up eating Nutella on toast–typically accompanied by peanut butter–for breakfast, so for me this taste is as nostalgic as it is delicious. However, while I have had Biscoff cookies before, I had no idea that there was a peanut-butter-like spread made out of them! Apparently it is more widely known/used in Europe, though to be perfectly honest, I do not know in what capacity. If you haven’t tried at least one of these ingredients, I urge you to run out the store and buy some–even if you don’t make this recipe (yes, I am giving you permission to grab a spoon and go for it).

IMG_6405

If you have ever made a thumbprint cookie–especially the peanut butter kind with the chocolate kisses on the top–this recipe will be very easy to follow. It begins by creaming the Biscoff spread with the butter.

IMG_6416

In another bowl, I mixed what I have begun to call the “Norwegian” ingredients. Most people plainly *cough*boringly*cough* call the dry ingredients. But if you have ever been to a traditional Norwegian style meal, you will know that everything is exactly the same color, and like most dry ingredients, if you were to mix everything together in a bowl you probably couldn’t tell one ingredient from another.

IMG_6412

The remaining ingredients are added to the butter, then everything is mixed together.

IMG_6418

IMG_6425

I was a little surprised that this dough didn’t need to be refrigerated, and was worried that they would spread out too much in the baking process. However, everything turned out fine, nothing to worry about 😉

I used, as I usually do, a mini ice cream scoop to portion out the dough into small balls. I then rolled them to give them a smooth surface.

IMG_6430

IMG_6437

After baking for about 10 minutes, I used the back of my teaspoon measuring spoon to make a circle sized indent in each of the cookies, before returning them back to the oven.

IMG_6448

IMG_6451

After cooling the cookies completely, I put my nutella in a piping bag and piped it into each indent. One thing about using Nutella for this recipe is that it is very soft. To remedy this, I placed the piped cookies onto baking sheets and put them in the freezer. After they were thoroughly frozen, I stacked them in an airtight container and kept them in the freezer until I needed them the next day.

IMG_6457

I am sure many of my readers know by now that I take way too many pictures…of everything! 😛 So here are some more pix of the finished product!

IMG_6463

IMG_6490

IMG_6502

Biscoff Nutella Thumbprint Cookies
Inspired by Handle the Heat
**The original recipe says it makes about 40 cookies, though I found it made about 30

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup Biscoff spread
1 stick butter, room temperature
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup Nutella

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
2) Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
3) Combine the Biscoff spread and butter in the bowl of a stand mixer, and mix until thoroughly combined.
4) Add the sugars and beat until light and fluffy.
5) Add the egg and vanilla, and mix until combined. Then add in the flour mixture.
6) Use a small ice cream scoop to create small balls of dough, and space them out evenly on the prepared pans. Bake for 10 minutes.
7) Remove the cookies from the oven, and create a small indent in each with the back of a spoon or the end of a wooden spoon. Return the the oven and bake for another 5 minutes.
8) Let the cookies cool completely on a wire rack, then spoon or pipe the Nutella into each indent.
9) Serve immediately or store in the refrigerator or freezer in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

