Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Double Chocolate Raspberry Cake

The official title of this cake is the Double Chocolate Raspberry Cake. But the truth is, that is a lie.

IMG_6342

The actual title of this cake is “Boys-Are-Stupid-Lets-Eat-Our-Feelings-Chocolate-Explosion-Cake.” Better title? Maybe. Accurate? 100%. 😛

I may only be speaking to my female readers when I say this, but have you ever had a time when one of your friends was down in the dumps? I mean, like really having a hard time with something such as a breakup? And being the good friend that you are, you go along with your friend and at least pretend to agree with everything they say and support them completely out of solidarity and in the name of friendship? Well this was one of those times, and instead of supporting my friend with just words (and yes, those words were “boys are stupid” — sorry to all the male readers out there) I immediately knew I needed to give support in the form of carbs and chocolate. Lots and lots of chocolate.

 

So anyhow, that is how this cake was born. Despite its sort of questionable motives, I love it when I make desserts like this out of the blue. There was no stewing over this being the correct recipe, no changing my mind prior to and after going to the grocery store. I just knew I needed a chocolate cake, and here we are one day later with a chocolate cake!

The base of the cake is extremely moist, and I would definitely recommend trying out this recipe! The combination of chocolate pieces and cocoa powder in addition to the coffee also gives it an additional depth of flavor which is incredible.

Another great thing about this cake: I actually used a sifter for all the dry ingredients! I don’t know about you, but except for things such as macarons, I NEVER sift dry ingredients… even when the recipe explicitly tells me to! Why? Mainly because I didn’t have a good sifter, and now that has been remedied! (Sorry for that nerd moment, I was just really excited 😛 )

I also made a few other minor changes to the recipes I used. For example, I believe this cake was originally a sheet cake… and then it was one 6″ cake… and I made two 6″ cakes and cut them in half.

While the cakes were cooling, I made the raspberry sauce. It was really easy and I was surprised with how much I enjoyed the flavor.

Then, before I made the frosting I stuck the cakes in the refrigerator. Typically I make cakes the day before I frost them, but I was a little short on time so I ended up doing everything in the same day.

With the frosting, butter and cream cheese are creamed together while the chocolate is melting in the microwave.

Then after the addition of the vanilla and salt, I added in the chocolate. The recipe I used was surprisingly uninformative concerning adding in the chocolate–both with the frosting and the cake recipes, so I am not actually sure when they were originally supposed to be added, but it all worked out well for me in the end.

IMG_6346

Then the powdered sugar is added and the frosting is finished! Simple, right?

After cutting the cakes in half, I stuck them in the freezer. Again, they were super moist, and I wanted the cake to be more sturdy while I was assembling it. Even now, years later, I have PTSD flashbacks of a cake I made — a beautiful, complex, 9″, 4 level cake I might add — that was too moist and just completely fell apart in my refrigerator after I spend hours on it. T_T

Once everything is prepared, it is time to assemble! For the most part, this can be done however you want. By now, I have a bit of a routine, and while I like to try new techniques, I know what works for me.

TA-DA!

 

Double Chocolate Raspberry Cake
Inspired by Green Chilli Peppers

Cake Ingredients:

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup hot coffee
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/3 cup oil
1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1 1/4 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup whole milk

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 and grease 2 6″ cake pans.
2) Pour the coffee over the chocolate chips and stir until melted.
3) Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl and set aside.
4) Beat the eggs until pale and slightly thick, then add the oil, vanilla and salt.
5) Add the chocolate mixture to the egg mixture and mix thoroughly.
6) Alternately add the dry ingredients and the whole milk to the egg mixture.
7) Pour evenly into prepared pans and bake for about 40-45 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool slightly in the pans before turning out onto a wire wrack to cool completely.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients:

8 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup dark chocolate chips
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 cups powdered sugar

Directions:

1) Beat the cream cheese and butter until light and fluffy.
2) Microwave the chocolate in 15-30 second increments until melted.
3) Add the vanilla and salt to the butter mixture, then add in the chocolate.
4) Add in the powdered sugar about 1 cup at a time until you have reached your desired consistency.

Raspberry Filling Ingredients:

1 cup frozen raspberries
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
1/2 lemon, juiced

Directions:

1) Place all ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat, and bring to a low simmer for about 10 minutes. The mixture should form a shiny, slightly runny, jam-like consistency.

Assembly:

1) Place the cake in the refrigerator for as long as possible — preferably at least one hour — then slice in half. Place these halves in the freezer.
2) Lay one of the four pieces of cake on a cake board. Spread a thin layer of raspberry over it, then pipe a ring of frosting around the edge.
3) Repeat step 2 until all the cake pieces have been used.
4) Frost a thin layer of frosting around the cake for a crumb coat. Place the cake in the freezer for 10-20 minutes.
5) Frost a thicker layer of frosting, then add design if desired. Place back in the freezer while preparing the piping bag.
6) Using a star tip, pipe a boarder around the top and bottom of the cake.
7) If you like, melt more chocolate and using a very small tip, pipe chocolate in circles around the piped edges of the cake.
8) Freeze until close to when you want to eat the cake, then refrigerate it to bring up the temperature before serving.

Leave a Reply

