Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Triple Lemon Blueberry Cake

Wow. I mean I was excited for this cake but still, I am impressed! Alright, sorry for the self-adulations but with how many changes I made to the recipe for the cake and the buttercream, and the new techniques I tried out with the piping, I was so happy with how the cake turned out.

IMG_6164

This recipe started out actually with the base recipe for the Lemon Cupcakes with Blackberry Buttercream. Because that recipe makes about 24 cupcakes, and I needed 12 for my repeat Lemon Cupcakes with Blueberry Buttercream, I used the extra dough to create 2 6″ cakes for this recipe. To one, I added about 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries sprinkled with a little bit of flour.

IMG_5970

The reason I only added blueberries to half of the batter was so that when I split the cakes later the blueberries would be on alternating layers. This way the cake isn’t too soggy from the blueberries, and the flavor is not over powering.

IMG_5978

IMG_5983

For the buttercream, I made a fairly simple recipe, then added lemon zest, lemon extract and yellow food coloring. Most of the things I have been making lately have had pink or purple color themes, which while I love those colors, I was excited to adventure into relatively uncharted color territory.

IMG_6045

I did actually make several changes to the buttercream from the original recipe, adding less sugar, less cream, no lemon juice… basically I just made things up as I went and stopped when it looked and tasted how I wanted it to!

IMG_6039

I made the cakes in advance, and wrapped them tightly in plastic wrap for two days.

IMG_6053

Then I cut each of the layers into two using a large serrated knife. You may have a cake leveler, which would be awesome, but as of yet that is one tool my kitchen is missing and I think this method works well too!

IMG_6058

IMG_6066

Starting with one blueberry layer, spread on a thin layer of blueberry jam, pipe the boarder with buttercream, then spread/pipe on some lemon curd. Unfortunately, the lemon curd was one I bought because I was running low on time, and I was disappointed with how sweet it was. I think if I made this recipe again, I would mix the lemon curd with some whipped cream, or possibly just fill in each layer with more buttercream.

IMG_6069

All the layers are stacked, with the bottom of the non-blueberry filled cake at the top.

IMG_6080

Then the cake gets a light crumb coat of buttercream before going into the refrigerator for 30 minutes to harden.

IMG_6082

Next, more frosting is added. I piled it on, then used a scraping tool to smooth out the sides and the top.

IMG_6098

Now comes the fun part–buttercream roses! 😀 Prior to this recipe, I had only piped roses onto cupcakes. Because of this I was nervous, but I have seen enough YouTube tutorials to know that it is possible to pipe the roses somewhere else, then transfer them to what you want decorated. I did this very successfully using scissors.

IMG_6118

IMG_6140

IMG_6127

I finished up the cake with piping some writing using a fine Wilton circle tip. First I wrote in English…but then it wasn’t exciting enough so I repeated the greeting in Chinese! It was justified though, as the cake was meant to welcome home a good friend who has been in China for the past year.

IMG_6155

IMG_6160

IMG_0909

IMG_0912

Triple Lemon Blueberry Cake
Inspired by Sweetapolita

For the Cake, use the Lemon Cupcake Batter, and add 1/2 cup of blueberries sprinkled with flour to 1/2 of the batter. Because I used 1/2 of the batter for the cake, I ended up with 2 6″ cakes. However, you could make a larger cake, cupcakes, or more cakes with this recipe at the same time.

Buttercream Ingredients:

1 cup butter, softened
1 lemon, zested
4 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons whipping cream
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
yellow food gel

Other things:

Lemon Curd
Blueberry Jam

Directions:

1) Cream the butter and lemon zest for about 3 minutes, until light and fluffy.
2) Slowly add the powdered sugar and mix on low speed for an additional 2 minutes.
3) Add in the cream and extract and mix to combine. If the buttercream looks like it is too thick, add in more cream or some lemon juice.
4) Add in the yellow coloring in very small increments until you reach the desired color.

**Follow the above pictures and directions to stack and frost the cake! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

