Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Summer Reading Adventures Part 3: Tokyo Walking Tours

Alright, the third book I hope to read by the time I leave for Japan this fall is Tokyo: 29 Walks in the World’s Most Exciting City. With the first two books (see Part 1 and Part 2) I am focusing on learning Japanese language and culture, but with this, I am focusing on the adventures I will have while I am studying there. I have started reading the book and I can’t wait to try out some of the things I have been reading about!

IMG_5745

The book starts out with a massive map of Tokyo, and the four regions the book is divided into.

IMG_5747

Each region in Tokyo has 5-6 walking tours, each with several destinations. One of the great things about the book is that it not only gives detailed instructions and information about locations and histories about areas in Tokyo, it also gives you prices, days things are open, and times of the year that are most optimal for things such as parks and flowers

IMG_5748

Then with each walking tour, there is a blown up map with red arrows and numbers that point out where you should start, what order you should see things in, and how to find transportation when you are finished with the tour.

IMG_5754

Overall, this seems like a great guide book, and definitely is something I will be bringing with me to Tokyo in the fall! In case people are hesitant to bring piles of books with them on their trip, I would still recommend reading it, then bringing the large, easy to read fold out map from the back of the book.

It is also a great resource to start learning about where locations are in relation to each other. I have been to Tokyo once before, and although I had a lot of wonderful experiences while I was there, I can not for the life of me remember where things are located and how I might get there from the University I will be studying at… for that matter, I am not entirely sure where my university is, although I have been told it is near Tokyo Disneyland 😛

Leave a Reply

