Uncategorized
Comments 2

Rose Water Meringues

As you may have heard, I ended up with a few too many egg whites from all the tarts I made this past weekend. So I decided (last minute) to quick find some recipes to use up the egg whites. This was actually quite challenging for me! Typically I make lists and piles of recipes, draw some out, make plans for others, and then eventually end up either the first recipe I initially thought of, or something completely different. 😛 At least my choices were narrowed down to meringues and macarons–both desserts which mostly consist of egg whites!

IMG_5950

In addition, I have some Rose Water and Orange Blossom Water in my pantry–both of which are flavors you need very little of to make a statement. Because of this, I don’t get to use them very often…and I feel I will have the bottles for another 5 years 😛 So I searched for a recipe in which I could use one of those flavors.

IMG_5953

Meringue is actually the easiest thing to make. Like, easier than chocolate chip cookies. No, seriously, I urge you to try it! You begin with egg whites, sugar and cream of tartar, and heat it in a double boiler until the sugar dissolves.

IMG_5850

Then the mixture is whipped into oblivion for several minutes until it reaches stiff peak consistency.

IMG_5855

Thats it. You’re done! I mean, now is the time to add in the flavor, but besides that, you could end here if you wanted to. I added in about 1.5 teaspoons of Rose Water, and a very small drop of burgundy gel food coloring.

Then I piped small circles using a star tip and baked them at a low temperature for almost two hours.

IMG_5870

The original recipe called for chocolate, and to sandwich two meringues together with it. However I thought this was overboard and that they were cute enough and tasty enough to leave as they were.

IMG_5953

Rose Water Meringues
From Cooking Melangerie

Ingredients:

4 egg whites
1 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
1.5 teaspoon rose water
burgundy gel food color

Directions:

1) In the bowl of a double boiler, whisk the egg whites, sugar and cream of tartar over low heat. Continue to heat until the sugar has dissolved, about 5 minutes.
2) Transfer the mixture into the bowl of a stand mixer and begin whipping on low for a minute or two before increasing the speed for a few minutes more. Stop mixing when the egg whites reach a stiff peak consistency.
3) Add in the rose water and food color as desired and gently stir.
4) Using a star tip and a piping bag, pipe small circles in parchment paper colored baking sheets.
5) Bake for 1 hour and 40 minutes on a low rack in an oven at 175 degrees Fahrenheit.
6) After the time is up, turn off the oven and open the door, but leave the trays in the oven until they are completely cooled. Transfer the meringues to a tightly sealed container until ready to serve.

IMG_5963

Overall, they were a great use of extra ingredients and accented the desserts I made in the first place–Chocolate Raspberry Tarts and Fresh Fruit Tarts with Vanilla Pastry Cream, if you haven’t already checked out the pictures and the recipes!

Rating: 5/5 Even my mom enjoyed this recipe, and she doesn’t even like meringue!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Fresh Fruit Tarts with Vanilla Pastry Cream | Unmasked Adventures

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Raspberry Tarts | Unmasked Adventures

Leave a Reply

