Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream Roses

Yesterday I received a request for cupcakes. As always when I have the beginnings of an idea, I seek the internet gods for some assistance. In case you are wondering how the internet gods respond to my questions, all the answers are on my pinterest 😛

IMG_4952

Anyhow, I needed a recipe, and it needed to be something I could begin Saturday morning and be completely finished with by 2:00. Because of my time restrictions, I chose a recipe that was simple but elegant. The chocolate cupcakes are incredibly moist, and everything can be put together in the same bowl, which is great. I think I would change the water in the cakes to coffee, to give the cakes a greater depth of flavor and bring out the chocolate. The buttercream is also very easy, and I would definitely use it again.

As I mentioned, the cake recipe is straightforward, with basically everything thrown into one bowl together. One unique component is the amount of liquid, and the use of oil instead of butter. This makes the cakes very moist.

IMG_4885

The batter is very runny, but again, this actually makes it easier to fill all the cupcake liners to an equal level. I was also happy with this recipe, because it is one of the only times my version of the recipe has made exactly the same number of cupcakes as the original recipe! Exactly 22!

IMG_4889

IMG_4895

The cakes were baked for about 20 minutes, then I left them to cool completely before making the buttercream.

IMG_4908

Once the cakes were cool and ready to be frosted, I made the buttercream. It whips up in about 5 minutes, and can be used immediately.

IMG_4922

I colored my frosting, about 2/3 of it a light pink, using Wilton pink and burgundy, and about 1/3 of it a light green.

IMG_4924

IMG_4934

IMG_4936

With the pink frosting, I used a 104 Wilton tip, or a small flower tip, and with the green frosting, I used a 352 Wilton tip, or a small leaf tip.

IMG_4938

I piped roses on the cooled cupcakes, then piped on a few leaves.

IMG_4947

This was the second time I have ever piped buttercream roses, and it went… alright. I wanted to make larger roses, but the culinary stores near my apartment didn’t have 127 tips. T_T I also think I could have added less milk to the buttercream, so the edges of the petals would have been more crisp. However, all in all, it was a success. If you want to know more about how I piped the roses, ask the YouTube gods, there are hundreds of video tutorials. Maybe someday I will be special enough to make my own tutorial… 😛

IMG_4954

Chocolate Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream
Inspired by A Baked Creation’s Recipe

Ingredients:

2 eggs
3/4 cup of milk
1 teaspoon vanilla paste
3/4 cup warm water (though I would recommend trying warm coffee instead)
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and line 22 muffin cups with paper liners.
2) In the bowl of a mixer, combine the eggs, milk vanilla, water and oil until the eggs are broken and everything is thoroughly combined.
3) Add in all the remaining ingredients, and mix to combine. Be careful not to over mix the batter.
4) Evenly distribute the batter among the liners–about 2/3 of the way full.
5) Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Let them cool completely before frosting.

Buttercream Ingredients:

1 stick of butter (1/2 cup), room temperate
3 cups powdered sugar
~1/4 cup of milk
2 teaspoons vanilla paste
Wilton color dyes, in pink, burgundy and green

Directions:

1) In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter until light and fluffy.
2) Slowly add the powdered sugar until it is completely combined.
3) Add the vanilla, then add the milk in 1 tablespoon increments until you have reached your desired consistency.
4) Add very small amounts of food coloring until you reach the desired color.

To Assemble:

Place the pink buttercream in a piping bag with a 104 Wilton tip. Create a small center for the flower in the middle of the top of the cupcake. Go around the center, creating petals, until the frosting starts resembling a rose. I know, these are terrible instructions. For now, since I don’t have a tutorial, I suggest asking the YouTube gods for help. It is better to see this done, than to read about it. Once you have your rose, pipe small leaves in a few sections around the flower.

If you are lucky enough to have a 127 Wilton tip, I probably wouldn’t separate the frosting and would only pipe the flowers instead of the flowers and the leaves. Also, if you feel uncomfortable piping directly onto the cupcakes, pipe onto a piping “nail” then use a scissors to transfer the rose to the top of the cupcake.

Happy Baking!

Rating:
Appearance: 4.5/5
Taste: 4/5 –> I think it wold be better with coffee, as I mentioned
Ease of Preparation: 5/5

Leave a Reply

