Uncategorized
Comments 3

Fruit Swirl Cookies

“It is spring. It is spring, and in spring there is rain, and flowers, and happy things,” I say to myself. Then I open my eyes and look out the window at the blizzard. Yes, you heard me correctly, it is April 18th, and we are having a snow storm. Last year on this date in Minnesota, it was 65 degrees. I was probably wearing shorts. T_T

Well, in the meanwhile, I am going to think happy thoughts and bake spring-like things. Maybe all the positive thinking will turn this weather around? *crosses fingers*

IMG_4883

Today I made what I am calling Fruit Swirl Cookies. They are very delicious, and I don’t think I have made anything quite like them before, so that was very exciting. What I love about this recipe is that it has so much potential. Today I used strawberry and peach jam for the filling, but you could really use any jam, preserve, curd, spice, chocolate…. my thoughts are getting away from me, but you get the point! (You could also flavor the dough…ohhhhh even MORE possibilities!)

The cookie recipe itself is very basic, it doesn’t take much time and all of the ingredients are things a person who bakes a lot has in the kitchen anyway. I used what is now my favorite ingredient in the kitchen, vanilla paste, so my dough was speckled with beautiful little vanilla seeds.

After the dough is made and chilled, it is rolled out into a rectangle. The dough is soft enough, even after chilling, that this is super easy–much easier than I expected.

Then the jam is spread onto the rectangle of dough. The first time around, I used the strawberry jam. I think I rolled the dough a bit too thin, and used a bit too much jam. It wasn’t terrible, but it meant the cookies spread out more while baking and didn’t look as nice.

Then the dough is rolled together. I let this rest in the freezer for about 15 minutes before cutting it, so I would have circle cookies instead of smushy oval cookies 😉

Then when the cookies are cut and placed on cookie sheets they are ready for baking! Make sure to give them room on the sheet, they are not like shortbread and they WILL spread out.

And they are finished! Easy right? I also have approval once again from fellow member of the Japanese Language Circle at school, so you don’t need to take my word for it. One of my friends did say they were a bit sweet for her taste, so be aware of that if you try baking these for others.

 

Fruit Swirl Cookies
Inspired by Baking Heaven Spring 2013

Ingredients:

3/4 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla paste
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
~1/2 cup jam (I used strawberry for half and peach for half)

Directions:

1) Place the butter and sugar in a stand mixer and whip until light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix well.
2) Add the vanilla, flour and baking powder to the butter mixture and combine.
3) Turn out the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap, cover, and place in the refrigerator for about 1 hour.
4) Roll out the dough into a 1/4 inch thick rectangle. Straighten the edges, then spread the jam in a thin layer across the surface.
5) Roll the dough into a log, rolling from one of the longer ends of the rectangle. Place the rolled dough onto a sheet and place in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes.
6) Preheat the oven to 360 degrees Fahrenheit/180 degrees Celcius.
7) Cut the roll of dough into slices, about 1/2 inch thick, then place the slices on baking sheets covered in parchment paper.
8) Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes, then leave on the sheets to cool completely.

Rating: 4.5/5

3 Comments

  1. Talia says

    wow! these are amazing! baked to perfection! i baked mine with raspberry jam, and it turned out scrumptious! Thank you so much! I think you should use your talents and go to culinary school to become professional!!!!

  2. Pingback: Butterscotch Oatmeal Cookies | Unmasked Adventures

Leave a Reply

