Uncategorized
Comments 3

抹茶クッキー aka Matcha Cookies

Well, devoted readers, are you sensing a trend in my cooking lately? Matcha Bread, Matcha Cheesecake, GF Matcha Cookies…   I think this is the 4th thing I have made with 抹茶 or Matcha, a powdered Japanese green tea, since January. Maybe it helps me learn Japanese? *sigh* If only that were true!

IMG_4788

Anyhow, I made these Matcha Cookies, and the recipe worked really well! I made them more decorative with different kinds of chocolate than the original recipe called for. Truthfully though, they are delicious–albeit less pretty–simply plain without chocolate. I was a little worried about how they would turn out, but I have gotten approval from Japanese and non-Japanese friends alike! YAY!

These were great cookies for their purpose: snacks at a Japanese/English conversation circle at my school… However, now I feel as I always do–like I need to one-up myself. What should I make for next week? Any suggestions? (特に、会話サークルのみなさん!何を食べたい?)

 

The batter is very simple, and like any other shortbread except for with Matcha. I wanted to make a lot of cookies so I could share them with lots of people, so I made 2x batches. I would say I am surprised at the amount I ended up with, because the original recipe was supposed to make 40 cookies of the same size I made, whereas my 2x batch made about 60….hmmmmm (also, can you tell that the batter for the shortbread is almost the exact color of the walls in my apartment? 😛 )

 

 

The fun/interesting/somewhat time consuming part of these cookies is that they are rolled out, and then cut by hand with a ruler to achieve small rectangle cookies. I made mine the width of my ruler wide (about 1 inch) and 2 inches long.

 

 

After baking, the cookies are cooled thoroughly so the chocolate can be added without melting off the cookies.

 

Now the fun part, decorating! Alright, I admit, I could have spent more time doing my homework than decorating these cookies, but what fun would that be?

 

I don’t really have any nice pictures of the cookies, since I was just packing them in a to-go container T_T Oh well, you get the idea!

 

抹茶クッキー aka Matcha Cookie Recipe
Inspired by Global Dish

Ingredients:

1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 1/4 cups flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon matcha powder
3/4 cup room temperature butter
1 teaspoon vanilla paste
1 tablespoon milk (optional)
about 6 ounces each of white and dark chocolate

Directions:

1) Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.
2) Whip the butter until light and fluffy in a stand mixer, about 5 minutes.
3) Add the vanilla to the butter, stir, then add the flour mixture. Continue mixing until a soft dough forms. If the dough does not seem to be forming, add the milk.
4) Turn the dough out onto a floured work surface, and roll until you achieve a 1/4 inch thickness.
5) Using a ruler, cut the dough into rectangles about 1×2 inches. Place the rectangles onto parchment paper lined baking sheets, and pierce each several times with a fork.
6) When a tray is full of cookies, place it in the freezer for 20 minutes.
7) Preheat the oven to 275 degrees Fahrenheit. When the cookies come out of the freezer, transfer them immediately to the oven and cook for 15-18 minutes.
8) Remove the cookies and let them cool on a wire rack until they are completely cooled.
9) Melt the chocolates separately. Dip some of the cookies in each of the chocolates, then transfer the remaining chocolate into piping bags. Pipe designs on the cookies.
10) Once again, place the cookies into the freezer. Leave them until the chocolate has set up, about 30 minutes. Remove and serve!

**The chocolate will probably melt if it is left at room temperature, so you may want to keep them in an airtight container in the freezer until around the time you are planning on serving them.

3 Comments

  1. Good information. Lucky me I recently found your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve saved as a favorite for later!

  2. Hi there everyone, it’s my first visit at this web site, and article is truly fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting such articles or reviews.

Leave a Reply

