Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Thai Tea Tres Leches Cake

Today I made a cake in honor of a friend’s birthday. I enjoy baking for my friends’ birthdays for so many reasons, but they always push me to expand my baking horizons, which I love. With my interest in Asian cultures and French pastries, I haven’t ventured much into desserts in other cultures. My friend requested a Tres Leches Cake, and soon into my search for a recipe I discovered that my favorite Thai food blogger had a Thai Tea twist on the traditional recipe.

IMG_4499

This recipe is very simple, and takes a Tres Leches Cake recipe and adds Thai Tea leaves to the batter.

 

Besides adding great flavor, Thai Tea leaves add wonderful, natural color to baked goods.

I baked the cake the night before I wanted to serve it, so it could cool overnight.

 

 

The next morning, the “Tres Leches” or “Three Milks” are combined and poured over the top of the cake, which has been pierced to help absorption.

 

 

 

While the milk is soaking into the cake, whip heavy cream for a light “frosting,” then spread it over the cake.

 

 

Finally, toast some unsweetened coconut on the stove to add to the top of the cake before serving. I think the coconut adds a nice flavor that complements the flavors in the tea, without overwhelming the cake.

 

And it is finished! It is not a classically pretty cake, but it is beautiful when you cut into it and is perfect for sharing with friends!

 

Thai Tea Tres Leches Cake
Cake Recipe from Salo-Salo
Thai Inspiration from SheSimmers

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 bags Thai Tea leaves (about 2 tablespoons)
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
5 eggs
1/2 vanilla paste
1 cup whole milk*
1 can evaporated milk*
1 can sweetened condensed milk*
1 cup heavy cream, thoroughly chilled
3 tablespoons powdered sugar
1/2 cup-1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease and flour a 9×9 inch pan.
2) Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then add in eggs one at a time. Mix in the vanilla paste.
3) Mix in about 1/2 cup of the flour, the baking powder, and the Thai Tea. Once everything is thoroughly combined, add in the remaining cup of flour.
4) Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes.
5) Remove the cake and let it cool completely–anywhere from a few hours to overnight.
6) Pierce the cake many times with a fork. Mix the milks together and pour evenly over the cake.
7) Whip the heavy cream and powdered sugar until stiff peaks form, then spread over the cake once it has absorbed all the liquid. Refrigerate for at least one hour.
8) In a small pan over medium heat, toast the coconut. Be careful, once the coconut begins to brown, it turns dark very quickly!
9) Before serving, remove the cake from the refrigerator and sprinkle with coconut. It can be served chilled or at room temperature.

**I didn’t want the cake to be overly sweet, so I didn’t follow the directions for the amounts of liquid used in the original recipe, and unfortunately the cake was dry in several areas. In the ingredients, I gave the amounts for the original amount of liquid, which I think should work well.

Leave a Reply

