Cake
Leave a Comment

Blue Ombre Cake

Last summer I was on a baking spree, and jumped on the chance to try out any recipe. During one particularly proud moment, I agreed to celebrate an occasion (which will remain unnamed for social acceptance reasons) with a cake. A blue cake. Somehow during the baking process, a cake which I thought would be goofy and ridiculous turned out to be classy and beautiful.

IMG_1070

I was really happy to be able to try out so many new (to me) techniques! You may know by now how I feel about making the same recipe more than once, and how I am always on the lookout for new and exciting things to bake. With this recipe, I used two recipes and a frosting technique inspired by Sweetapolita who happens to be one of my favorite bloggers. I would have to say, I was worried about how well I would be able to pull off this frosting technique, but it went quite smoothly and gave me a lot of confidence to try other techniques in the future.

First, I made the batter. I used only blue sprinkles because that was the theme of my cake. A word of advice: never, ever, EVER decide the theme color you want for a baked good until you know you can purchase the items you need in the stores closest to you! I did not follow this advice, which led me on a half day journey to five, yes five, different stores in order to get blue sprinkles. Even then I had to buy rainbow packs and only use the blue sprinkles!

IMG_1033

Anyhow, I changed the recipe a little and used 6 inch pans instead of 8 inch pans. Because of this, I ended up only making 3 of my cakes with blue sprinkles, and made the fourth cake into a mini purple cake for my cousin. 🙂

IMG_1036

IMG_1038

While the cakes were cooling, I used Wilton food coloring to color the frosting I made. I left some of the frosting white, then used three different blues to color the remaining frosting.

IMG_1061

Once the cake was assembled and crumb coated, I piped one color onto the bottom 1/3 of the cake, and used an offset spatula to smooth it out.

IMG_1063

I repeated that with the second layer…

IMG_1064

Then finally, I coated the top with the last color and smoothed everything together.

IMG_1065

I added decorations and TA-DA! Finished!

IMG_1068

IMG_1070

Blue Ombre Cake
Inspired by Sweetapolita

Cake Ingredients:

1 cup whole milk
4 large egg whites
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
¼ teaspoon almond extract
2 ¾ cup cake flour
1 ½ cups sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
¾ teaspoon salt
12 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
¼ – ½ cup blue sprinkles

Cake Ingredients:

3 sticks + 2 tablespoons butter, softened
3 ½ cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Food coloring (paste, not liquid)

Directions:

• Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, and grease 2 8 inch round pans or 4 6 inch round pans.
• In a bowl, combine the eggs, ¼ cup of milk, vanilla and almond extract. Set aside.
• With an electric mixer, combine dry ingredients, including the sugar.
• Add the butter to the dry ingredients and blend for about 30 seconds. Add the remaining milk and mix until moistened. Increase the speed and mix for another minute or two.
• Add the egg mixture in three batches, mixing after each addition.
• Stir in the sprinkles until just combined.
• Divide the batter between the pans and bake for 25-35 minutes.
• Cool for 10 minutes before inverting and cooling on wire racks.
• With an electric mixer, whip the butter for about 8 minutes on medium speed, until pale and creamy.
• Add the remaining frosting ingredients to the butter, mixing until combined on low speed before turning up the speed to medium and mixing for another 6 minutes.
• Separate the frosting into bowls and add desired colors, leaving one portion white.

Assembly:

• Place a small amount of frosting on a cake plate or cake board and place a cooled cake on top of it.
• Frost the top of the bottom layer of cake using the white frosting, then place the next layer on top. Repeat until all layers are added.
• Using the white frosting, frost the outside of the cake in a thin layer, or crumb coat. Refrigerate the cake for about 30 minutes, until firm.
• Using the darkest color or frosting, pipe around the bottom of the cake, about 1/3 of the way up. Use an offset spatula to smooth out the frosting.
• Repeat with the next darkest color of frosting, then again with the lightest color. Use the lightest color to frost the top of the cake.
• Decorate with more sprinkles and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

