Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Almond Poppy Seed Muffins

IMG_3486

Practically ever since I was capable of holding my head up by myself, I sat on the counter “helping” my dad make poppy-seed muffins on the weekend. Truthfully, it was quite some time before “helping” meant anything other than eating the batter as well as the final result. 😉

Poppy Seed Muffins are a Brehm Family tradition. The recipe I grew up making with my dad was written on a torn, yellowed scrap of paper, which I believe dates back to my great-grandmother…. Possibly just my grandmother… but at least three generations of Brehms have been making these muffins. (This may or may not be a myth I am starting… It may or may not have been based off of a recipe my dad discovered in the 80s…) I copied down that recipe onto a piece of my own paper, and let me tell you, it is…somewhere…in my apartment. I was craving the muffins (and couldn’t be troubled to search the 2-3 places in my apartment the recipe might be located) so I looked online until I found a similar recipe.

First, I combined the dry ingredients with the star ingredient: the poppy seeds. (sorry again for the picture quality, I was doing some midnight baking 😉 )

IMG_3403

After the butter and sugar are blended, the best parts get added. Honestly, if I could smell almond extract 24/7, I definitely would. The original recipe didn’t call for vanilla extract, but I am a firm believer that vanilla is never out of place in a baked good.

IMG_3422

IMG_3433

Everything gets blended together to create this beautiful batter…

IMG_3440

…and more importantly, spatulas with batter that needs to be eaten! Yes, I went for it, don’t judge me.

IMG_3464

IMG_3473

Finally, the batter is divided into muffin tins and baked to golden perfection

IMG_3450

IMG_3499

Almond Poppy Seed Muffin Recipe
Inspired by Cooking Classy

Ingredients

1 ¾ cup flour
¾ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons poppy seeds
1 cup sugar
10 tablespoons of butter, room temperature
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2-3 teaspoons almond extract
½ teaspoon vanilla paste
½ cup whole milk
½ cup sour cream

Directions:

• Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
• In a medium sized bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and poppy seeds.
• In a stand mixer, beat the sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Mix in the eggs and extracts until completely combined.
• In a measuring cup, combine the milk and sour cream. Add the flour mixture and milk mixture to the butter, alternating dry and wet until everything is just combined.
• Divide the batter into a muffin tin, adding approximately ¼ cup to each. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until golden on the toped and cooked through.
• Cool and devour 🙂

Rating: 4.75/5 stars
Not quite as epic as the Brehm Family recipe, but delicious none-the-less!

IMG_3495

Leave a Reply

