Uncategorized
Comments 3

Coconut Mochi Cake with Red Bean

IMG_1519

I have been collecting kitchen gadgets and tools for years. For Christmas, birthdays…anything with gifts, I have received kitchen things from almost every family member and some of my friends. While I was still living with my parents, I had entire cupboards dedicated to my kitchen things. Then, I moved into my apartment a few months ago, and discovered something horrible. Even with all the kitchen supplies I had collected over the years, and the things I had bought specifically for my apartment, I had somehow managed to not have a 9×13 pan!

Okay, so it might not be that big of a deal to most… or all other people, but it means that at least once a month since last summer, I have had to use a 9×9 inch pan and a 6 inch cake pan to replace the 9×13 pan called for in the recipe I am using.

The reason I am telling you this long and somewhat boring story, is because in the case of this recipe, Coconut Mochi Cake with Red Bean Filling, I am so happy I had to make this substitution! I was making this recipe for a party, and I wasn’t sure if all the people coming would like red bean or not. Because I had two smaller pans of the cake, I filled one with red bean, and left the other plain.

I think both cakes are beautiful, and each have an entirely different feel.

One last thing I want to share with you all, is that this cake is naturally Gluten-Free! How exciting, right?! I love it when that happens! 😀

On to the recipe!

First, make the cake! This is a very simple recipe, and one I would recommend to people with any range of baking experience. As you can see, two different cake pans have been used 😛

IMG_1489

IMG_1492

After the cakes have cooled, trim the edges and slice the cake in half horizontally. I only did this to the 9×9 inch cake, leaving the other cake in tact to serve in slices without red bean for potentially picky eaters.

IMG_1493

As you can see from the previous picture, I used Korean red bean paste, or 팥. I purchased this at an Asian Grocery store. There are many varieties of Korean, Japanese, and other bean pastes. They mostly differ in their texture and level of sweetness, but I think it is a preference thing. Any bean paste could be substituted in this recipe and still work and be equally delicious.

Anyhow, spread the beans in a layer on the top of the bottom layer of the cake. Then sandwich the top layer of cake on top.

IMG_1496

IMG_1502

To make things easier, stick the cake in the freezer for about 30 minutes before cutting it into squares. Finally, dust with powdered sugar and enjoy!

IMG_1518

For the 6 inch circle cake, I cut it as you would a typical cake and dusted it with powdered sugar as well.

IMG_1511

Coconut Mochi Cake with Red Bean
Adapted from Hungry Rabbit

Ingredients:

3 cups sweet rice flour
2 ½ cups sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 (14 oz) cans unsweetened coconut milk
5 eggs
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
½ teaspoon coconut extract (optional)
1 can sweetened red bean paste
Powdered sugar, for sprinkling

Directions:

• Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
• Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
• Whisk the eggs, then stir in the coconut milk, butter and extracts in a separate bowl. Add the coconut mixture to the flour mixture and whisk until the batter is thoroughly combined.
• Pour the batter into a 9×13 inch pan, or a 9×9 inch pan and a 6 inch cake pan. Bake until the top is golden, about 1 and a half hours. Cool the cake completely in the pan on a rack, about 2 hours.
• Remove the cooled cake from the pan and trim the edges.
• Split the cake horizontally in half and spread the red bean on the bottom layer. Add the top layer and place the cake in the freezer until thoroughly chilled, about 30 minutes.
• Cut the cake into squares using a serrated knife, and dust with powdered sugar before serving. These are best at room temperature, and can be kept in the refrigerator if you are not serving them within a few hours.

Rating: 5/5 Delicious with or without the red bean, and easy to work with, especially if you freeze the cake before cutting it!

3 Comments

  1. Nabela says

    Have you ever made this with flaked coconut on top? I just tried some that a co-worker brought for a potluck, and I want to say there was coconut on top. When would you add that?

    • I have never tried this with adding flaked coconut but it sounds like a great idea! I would say to either add it to the top of the cake batter before baking (though there you would run into the chance that the coconut would burn) or otherwise I would add some sort of light glaze to the top of the cake once it is completed and sprinkle on some toasted coconut then! I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

