Uncategorized
Comments 3

Winter Lemonade

Today wasn’t as cold as it has been, but mid-day it started to rain/sleet, which turned into an inch or two of snow as the day wore on. Perfect, this is exactly how I wanted to start off the new semester! Not really. At least I only have one class this week. St. Kate’s is actually the best, and understands that we don’t want to go back to school until February. I think we are actually the last school in the state or maybe the country to end winter break. 😀

IMG_2642

Anyhow, between the cold, snow storm and getting back to school, hot tea is the key to survival. I am not sure this recipe can be considered “tea” but I think it is closer to tea than a lemonade as the name suggests. Whether it is tea or lemonade, it is simple—which is excellent when you are avoiding going outside (which keeps a person from getting groceries…). There are only three ingredients, and all of them are things I usually have in the pantry.

One other thing I love about this recipe is how bright and colorful it is. I don’t know about you, but I think I am more excited about food when it is more colorful. Take Norwegian food for example. No matter what it tastes like, there is only so much beige food a person can handle! Seriously, it is ALL the same color!

Today’s song is inspired by the cold, and is aptly called “It’s Cold” by Epik High. Click on the link (embedded in the title of the song) and listen while you read the rest of the post!

The recipe is really simple. First you need to slice your lemon, and then get vicious with it, and stab a stick of cinnamon through the center.

Then, put the lemon into a pot or a large mug, and pour hot water over it. If you have a glass tea pot like I do, use it! Its really beautiful!

Lastly, add honey to your cup and pour the lemon tea into it. Stir and enjoy!

Winter Lemonade
Recipe from Season with Spice

Ingredients:

1 lemon
1 cinnamon stick
honey, to taste

Directions:

• Wash and slice the lemon. Discard the ends of the lemon and stack the remaining slices.
• Spear the cinnamon stick through the center of the stacked lemon slices. Place this into a tea pot.
• Pour hot water over the lemon and steep for about 5 minutes.
• Add some honey, about a tablespoon, into a mug, and pour the tea into the mug. Stir well and enjoy!
**The lemon-cinnamon can be re-steeped several times!

My Thoughts:

• Very refreshing and smooth! I don’t know if it was the honey, cinnamon or the fact that it was warm, but the tea was not sour or bitter at all.
• I couldn’t really taste the cinnamon very strongly, and I would be interested in adding another stick to the pot next time I make this.
• I loved that I could re-steep this tea without it loosing its flavor. I think I steeped it 4 times over the course of one day and it tasted the same every time.

Rating: 5/5

3 Comments

  1. When you come to Japan again, try this with Yuzu, the Japanese lemon. I had hot Yuzu tea just yesterday, and it was soooo soothing. Ginger, too. I must try both of these with cinnamon now. : )

    • That sounds wonderful! I have heard a lot about yuzu, but it isn’t widely available in the US, which is disappointing. I will put it on my list of things to try when I go back to Japan!

Leave a Reply

