Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

First Trip to Japan: Nagoya and Tokyo

For your reading pleasure, here is a Japanese song called “All I want is You” by m-flo. If you watch the MV, there is a lot of coverage of the subway system (the main mode of transportation my dad and I took while in Japan).

Castle in Nagoya

Castle in Nagoya

My dad and I arrived in Nagoya on the 29th of December with enough jet lag/enthusiasm that we were awake bright and early and ready to start exploring. The only downfall: everything in Japan is closed during the “holiday season” which lasts from before Christmas to after New Year’s Day. T_T The cherry on top of this situation? Its dumping rain… and we decided to adventure on foot! Actually, it wasn’t that bad, mostly because I love rain.

The castle above is one of the many, many places which was closed while we were in Japan. Fortunately, we could see the castle through the gate, and had a bird’s eye view from our hotel room on the 39th floor.

So what do you do when all tourist attractions are closed for the holiday? Shopping of course!

Outdoor shopping in Nagoya

Outdoor shopping in Nagoya

Once we found it that is!

As my dad and I were walking along in the rain, initially seeking the castle which turned out to be closed, we stumbled onto some extensive underground shopping in Nagoya. The next day we adventured to a temple, and again stumbled on more extensive shopping, only this time it was outdoors. Thankfully the rain was gone!

After a few days exploring Nagoya, we moved on to Tokyo via Shinkansen. We were blessed with beautiful, sunny weather, and had a perfect view of Mt. Fuji on the way!

I don’t think we ate anything that was not delicious the entire time we were there. When we got to Tokyo, we had Soba, which I had never had in this method of preparation, and some Strawberry cakes. I was going to make this type of Japanese Strawberry Shortcake last Christmas… and then there was an overload of dessert and I was unable to do so. Anyhow, hopefully one of the next posts will be of that! *fingers crossed*

Japanese Strawberry Roll Cake and Short Cake

Japanese Strawberry Roll Cake and Short Cake

Soba!

Soba!

One of the most memorable things we did while we were in Tokyo was explore Asakusa Temple and the area around it. The day we went was January 2nd. Since it was the newly 2013 (and everything else was closed anyway) everyone who wasn’t shopping was there praying! There were so many people! Leading up to the temple from the front gate were more than 100 stores selling gifts, and to the sides of the temple there were dozens of different tents selling all sorts of food. I honestly could have spent the entire day there just eating. *sigh* If only I had more than one stomach… Just kidding, but it was super delicious!

Asakusa Temple

Asakusa Temple

Me and some delicious Taiyaki

Me and some delicious Taiyaki

Another thing I love about Japan is the excessive amount of tea everyone seems to drink. In case you didn’t know, I love tea so much, I think there might actually be tea, not blood, pumping through my veins.

Anyhow, we met up with some friends in Japan who took us to a traditional Japanese tea cafe, where I had some delightful Matcha tea and a traditional tea sweet filled with red bean.

Matcha and a Red Bean Dessert

Matcha and a Red Bean Dessert

Finally, just to prove that the class I took last year on Japanese Theatre was practical, here is a picture of a Noh fan I took in a museum. 😉

Traditional Noh Fan

Traditional Noh Fan

I have so many other pictures and stories, but I don’t want to be completely overwhelming! There are more pictures on my Facebook page, and I would love to chat about my travels… especially if there is tea involved 😉

With my Spring Semester starting in the next few weeks, I will not be having much travel for a while, but stay tuned for recipes!

Leave a Reply

